Horn OK Please

10429819_10205169298052963_6106955600903343247_n

Flashback first.

It took me only three sessions of professional driving classes spread over 8 years to learn how to drive.

An inspiring image that refuses to leave my mind is of my instructor hugging the door handle on his side. It showed his belief in my abilities; that my confidence behind the wheel would make him giddy … with excitement. He guided me very well, God bless that ex-truck driver. He told me that the roads in the hills will not straighten up just because a tiny, white car is coming. I have to turn the steering for that, know left from khai. He requested me not to put both feet on the floor of the car even when the radio played ‘uthey sab key kadam’. He also made sure I understand that driving with the hand-brake up is by no way a safety procedure, that to reach 5 you need to go to 2-3-4 first and that the sequence is always ABC and CAB is only something I should call for whenever I am in the mood to drive (which he did not say, what a kind man).

To cut a long distance short, I knew my ABC before I hit Delhi roads recently. I had to hit them, because …

[To read more, please click here.]

sakshi-intro_test-2

We know you want to discuss this post. So go ahead and leave a comment...

