Peace in Chaos

This post is part of the WordPress Daily Prompts : 365 Writing Prompts program where the aim is to post at least once a day based on the prompts that they have provided. Today’s prompt is, A friend in need : Finish this sentence: “My closest friend is…”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I can’t be a daughter, a wife, a daughter-in-law or a mother all my life. I need some space. I need some peace. I need some time for myself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the evening as I entered the gate of our apartment complex, the watchman informed that the keys are with Suma madam of flat number 503.

I slowly climbed up the stairs and reached the lift. The lift which was otherwise overflowing with all kinds of people was completely empty today. Usually it is filled with children, men and women from the various flats, the elderly, the full-time or part-time maids, pets and so on. An emptiness that was slowly creeping in. Once on the fifth floor I rang the bell of flat number 503. Suma came out with the keys. As I turned towards my flat, she offered to have some coffee with her. I refused citing a headache and told her that I wanted to take a nap.

Read the remaining story here at Dew Drops

Rekha Intro

We know you want to discuss this post. So go ahead and leave a comment...

