The Milkman’s Rs.2

The door bell rang. Ahhh…how could I forget that it’s the first of the month and I should have either kept the front door locked from outside or I should have pulled the MCB down for the door bell switch.

The milkman, the newspaper guy, the sweeper…there’s a long queue of people waiting out there to pounce upon me for their rightful money. I mustered all my courage and opened the door just ensuring that I don’t let the queue fall upon me.  Perfect timing and one upon the other they all fell right inside the door as if performing a Surya Namaskar. I pulled out my wallet and gave away my hard-earned money, so that they too could feel content that they have received their hard-earned money. The last one left was the milkman and I was short of Rs.2 for him. I dug through my wallet, the piggy banks, the sofa cushions, but alas, I couldn’t find a Rs.2 coin.

milkman

Where did I find the Milkman’s Rs.2? Read More at Dew Drops.

========================================================

This post is part of the WordPress Daily Prompts : 365 Writing Prompts program where the aim is to post at least once a day based on the prompts that they have provided. Today’s prompt is, “Buffalo nickel: Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

The author Rekha Dhyani is one of the contributors to the Project 365 – A Post A Day and blogs regularly at Dew Drops. She also shares her lucky clicks at The Crystal Trance.

We know you want to discuss this post. So go ahead and leave a comment...

