The Four Wheels

After Dad’s accident in February 2000, a head-on collision of his Premier Padmini with DTC bus number 307, he never bought a car. We also never encouraged. He doesn’t remember those two days of his memory till date. Though the condition of the car made us lose all hopes of his survival, but by God’s grace he ended up with a few broken ribs and some wounds and scratches.. He received immediate medical attention because it happened early in the morning right in front of Mom’s eyes when she was waiting for the school bus at the bus stand. I cannot imagine what she went through till he was back to normal. One of the experiences which made me more daring and responsible as I had to handle the policemen who came in at weird hours forcing us to lodge a complaint against the driver.

Though we never encouraged Dad to buy a new car, we all knew very well how much he wanted to have one. I always wanted to buy him one for his love for cars, but monetary situations and my fears never allowed me to.

new-girl-cartoon

[Read More About the ‘The Four Wheels’ at Dew Drops]

========================================================

This post is part of the WordPress Daily Prompts : 365 Writing Prompts program where the aim is to post at least once a day based on the prompts that they have provided. Today’s prompt is, “Apply yourself : Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you. 

The author Rekha Dhyani is one of the contributors to the We Post Daily and blogs regularly at Dew Drops. She also shares her lucky clicks at The Crystal Trance

One comment on “The Four Wheels

  1. My dad would drive me nuts when he took me out for practise spins. And something very similar to your obedient ‘thoko’ happened in Doon too. I am sure you heard the sound in Dilli. I am sure. So, I banned him from navigating me. His tension was contagious. So much so, I even noticed my instructor sitting so close to the door, with his hand on the handle, as if waiting to flee away the moment I tried to go wild. Anyway, so he was rejected too. All 3 of them. 😛 (Yes, I took time.)
    The only person who made me learn to drive without a dreg of sweat, who reclines his seat way back and with his hands behind his head wait to be driven like a king is my husband. Like a king! Oh well, it sure makes me feel like a confident Queen behind the wheel. So what if I don’t go beyond the 3rd gear. 😛
    Yes, this did make me smile. All my own driving episodes came rushing back!

We know you want to discuss this post. So go ahead and leave a comment...

