Spreading Smiles

When I was a child, Mom always used to tell me to keep smiling as it makes the onlookers happy. Don’t know if I took it seriously then or understood the underlying meaning, but I always have a smile on my face. Thanks to my Mom!

Now that I’m a mother and though I want to instill values, virtues and principles in my children, I seldom tell them to do something because I feel it is right. I prefer exposing them to situations and making them judge what is right and what is wrong. This practice might prove wrong in certain cases, but till now it has definitely helped me. They judge a situation by themselves and they learn what is right and what is wrong. And anything that we learn by ourselves remains within us for a lifetime. That’s what I believe in.

Last weekend, along with Little Love (the younger one) I went to pick up Anu (the elder one) from her weekly Abacus classes. On our way back, I hired a rickshaw. As the rickshaw moved, Little Love started waving and shouting out to people…

[To read what Little Love said, click here.]

Picture Courtesy: izquotes.com
Picture Courtesy: izquotes.com

==================================================================

This post is part of the WordPress Daily Prompts : 365 Writing Prompts program where the aim is to post at least once a day based on the prompts that they have provided. Today’s prompt is, Quote Me: Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

The author Rekha Dhyani is one of the contributors to the We Post Daily and blogs regularly at Dew Drops. She also shares her lucky clicks at The Crystal Trance

15 comments on “Spreading Smiles

  1. I think what you’re doing is perfectly right…..we learn best by making our own judgements and dealing with their consequences ourselves. WIth kids, it just takes a little facilitating! Thanks for sharing with us!

  2. Where should I start? Actually let me just tell you the truth. Rekha, you have done it once again. You can take the simplest of things and make us smile. Beautifully written and giving us all a little bit extra insight into the wonder woman that is Rekha. And for your little one. Mashallah. You cant train them to do those things. She just sounds amazing. Can’t wait to meet her and Anu 🙂 As for the point of your post – Yes, a smile is one the biggest gifts you can give anyone. It can make another person smile, shake them out of their misery, pull them up when they’re down….no other feeling can have such an effect. As for you imbibing the right skills in your kids, well, that’s quite evident now 🙂 Amazing post

    • Thank you, Sid, for those wonderful words! You can make a person feel like on top of the world. But honestly, we are all little beings learning and unlearning during this journey called life. And smiling to me is one of the most basic and easiest task to learn and it helps the giver and the receiver equally. 🙂

  3. That’s a lovely post Rekha. Its so true that children have their own interpretation of how things are around them and that’s what makes them special beings.

    I loved how you connected the quote to different aspects and then brought out the essence of the saying by narrating about the destitute home where this lady is contributing to the lives of many and in the process helping them live a much happier life. Nice post, Rekha.

    • Thank you so much, Kajal! I must confess that motherhood and the two little angles have taught me a lot more than I have studied all my life. A big thanks to Almighty for having given me this beautiful opportunity to be with these two cute little souls. Yes, a little bit of kindness and politeness goes a long way in not just our lives but the ones we touch upon. Once again, thank you so much for stopping by and reading.

We know you want to discuss this post. So go ahead and leave a comment...

